cms quality measures

For over 30 years, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), with help from the ESRD Networks, has monitored and worked to improve the quality of care provided to beneficiaries with ESRD.  In 2008, the Medicare Payment for Patients & Providers Act (MIPPA) required the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services to create an ESRD Quality Incentive Program (QIP), the nation's first pay-for-performance program. Information on the CMS Quality Incentive Program and its components can be accessed via the links provided below:
Understanding the CMS ESRD Measures Manual
Dialysis Facility Compare (DFC)& Star Ratings
Dialysis Facility Reports (DFRs)


Technical Instructions for Accessing the Dialysis Facility Reports and the Quarterly Dialysis Facility Compare Preview Reports on Dialysis Data Website
Instructions for Dialysis Facility
Instructions for setting up corporate accounts for Dialysis Organization