Vascular access committee

The Vascular Access Committee (VAC) is a 10-member group representing the following disciplines: nephrology, surgery, interventional nephrology, interventional radiology, physician assistants, nursing, and consumers.  Members reside throughout the Network 5 area.

The Committee is charged by the Medical Review Board with overseeing a methodology for developing numeric goals for arteriovenous fistula (AVF) rates, developing and implementing an oversight project on vascular access improvement, and reviewing the Network 5 strategies for the national Fistula First Initiative.  Learn more about the choosing fistulas first and reducing catheter use in Network 5.



Kim Deaver, RN, BSN, CNN, Access Coordinator Chair
University of Virginia

Ryan Evans, MD
Valley Nephrology Associates

David L Mahoney, MD
Nephrology Associates of Northern Virginia

Jeffrey Perlmutter, MD MRB Chair
Nephrology Associates of Montgomery County

Anna Price, RN
Vascular Access Centers

Mohamed Sekkarie, MD Co-Chair
Bluefield Regional Medical Center

W.G. Schenk, III, MD Co-Chair
University of Virginia Health System

Anish Shah, MD
Vascular Institute of Virginia

Arina Van Breda, MD

Kim Zuber, PA
Quality Care Dialysis - Southern Maryland